Industrial Placement at Tata Steel

Duration
Placement Year (10 Months+)
Region
Newport/ Cardiff Wales
Review Date
Salary
£18,000 - £19,999
Roles
Chemistry

7.7/10

The Role
8.2
Organisation
7.2

Socialising

7.8

The Role

1. To what extent did you enjoy your work placement or internship?

I enjoyed my placement year very much. It really gave me an insight into what it's like to work as an industrial chemist and there was enough variety to keep me enthused, yet enough structure to keep me focused on the project.

8/10

2. To what extent did you feel valued by your colleagues?

My colleagues were very friendly and definitely enhanced my placement experience.

7/10

3. To what extent were you given support and guidance by management/your supervisor(s)?

Advice and guidance was always there when it was needed or asked for. Due to the friendly nature of the working environment, I never felt scared or intimidated to ask questions about the work required or the project.

8/10

4. How busy were you on a daily basis?

On the one occasion, the project lacked direction, however this was due to unforeseen circumstances. Before and after this, the project progressed smoothly, keeping me focused and busy on the work at hand.

7/10

5. How much responsibility were you given during your placement?

I was given a lot of freedom over the project, with supervisors only overseeing my work, rather than dictating my work. My input was appreciated and encouraged throughout the year.

9/10

6. To what extent did/will the skills you developed, and training you received, assist you in your degree studies and beyond?

The amount of insight I gained from the placement was invaluable. It gave me a clear idea of what I'd like to do when I graduate; it showed me how both academia and industry benefit from working together; most importantly, it helped me learn how professional relationships are formed between people from different organisations and how they work together for a mutual goal.

10/10

The Organisation

7. What was the general atmosphere in your office?

Although the office atmosphere was a typical office atmosphere, everyone was willing to talk when approached. Fortunately my work required me to spend a lot of time in a lab rather than an office. When in the lab, I enjoyed carrying out my work in a productive environment. My colleagues often approached me or vice versa.

6/10

8. How well organised was the overall work placement or internship set up?

I was the first chemist to undertake a project at the facility I worked at. In that regard, I was surprised at how well I was accommodated. Additionally, the project had a clear goal that I was to pursue and steps to get there were clearly laid out before me.

7/10

9. In terms of personal training and development, to what extent did the company or firm invest in you?

On several occasions, I was sent to other facilities in South Wales to expand my understanding and knowledge of the company and the type of work the company undertakes. Furthermore, I was instructed how to use several pieces of industrial equipment, so that I could use it safely and independently.

7/10

10. What were the perks on your work placement?

  • Flexi Time
  • Subsidised Canteen
  • National Travel
  • International Travel
  • Company Parties/Events
7/10

11. How appealing are future employment prospects within the organisation?

The company seemed very keen to hire me after my final year at university, and offered me sponsorship with a job.

9/10

Social

12. Was there a good social scene amongst any fellow placement students/colleagues?

Amongst the apprentices, drinks and other sports were organised outside of the work place. Additionally, there were works drinks that were great fun.

5/10

13. What was the cost of living and socialising in the area you worked in?

South Wales was very affordable in terms of living costs. Being a student in Cardiff, there were plenty of opportunities to socialise.

8/10

14. What was the Nightlife like in the area you worked?

Cardiff has great nightlife. There was never a time where I felt like I wasn't able to go out.

10/10

15. Were there many opportunities to get involved in activities outside of work?

My placement required me to work a typical 9-5 working day. In the evening and at the weekend, I was given enough time to engage in activities and hobbies.

8/10